Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


It's Monday! What are you reading this week?

Welcome to ‘It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?’, a weekly meme initially hosted by Sheila at the ‘Book Journey – One Persons Journey Through a World of Books’. This is a great way of letting people know what I’ve been reading over the past week and what I’ve got lined up for this week.

I’m sorry to say it’s been a slow one this past week, but it’s a good thing because I tend to take time over the books I like. So, here’s a list of books I completed, am still reading/ listening to/ look  forward to reading this week:

BOOKS READ:
1. Sputnik Sweetheart – Haruki Murakami
Sputnik Sweetheart
I’m quite surprised by how quickly I get through Murakami’s books. They are so reader friendly! This one took no time at all. I think next up is ‘The Wind-up Bird Chronicles’. Click here to read my review. 

2. In The Miso Soup – Ryu Murakami
In The Miso SoupAnother amazing read, this time by Ryu Murakami, who just happens to be Haruki Murakamis favourite author. Hmm. I wonder why? lol! Again, a quick read, not because I wanted to get through it quickly; but because the suspense was so masterfully engrossing. Review coming soon!

CURRENTLY READING:
1. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A savage Journey into the Heart of the American Dream – Hunter S. Thompson
Fear and Loathing in Las VegasTaking it easy with this one, nice slow doses, no sudden movements… after all, you must have your wits about you if you are to venture into Gonzo journalism at its finest! One toke over the line…

2. The Rapture (Audiobook) – Liz Jensen
The Rapture (unabridged audio book)Another one I’m taking my sweet time with. It’s been a while since I listened to a story, and I’m finding it quite enjoyable, if not a bit too tedious at times. WIth books, you can scan a page if nothing worthwhile is happening, but with audio, you have to listen to every single word. It’s a good thing that my version comes with three different narrator speeds. I’m listening to it in ‘Chipmunk mode’. Hilarious! Watch out for the review, it’s going to be one helluva breakdown.

 BOOKS TO READ:
1. The Rum Diary – Hunter S. Thompson
I’m going full-throttle through as many Gonzo books as I can. It’s my version of buying the ticket and taking the ride. I’ll probably end up reading a biography of him too. Anyone recommend a good one?

2. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles – Haruki Murakami
I want to read a fat book by Murakami. I’m fed up with the thin ones. This will give me more food for thought.

3. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson
After reading an excellent description of the main character (a kick-ass girl who’d give Trinity a run for her money) I decided it’s high time I started reading the trilogy. And besides, I saw the movie trailer and it looks absolutely stunning! 

Well, that’s my little list for now, I’d love to hear what other people have been reading the past week and what they’d recommend.