Tags

,


It's Monday! What are you reading this week?

Welcome to Monday Meme’s! This week I’ve decided to also join ‘Mailbox Monday’ which was created by Marcia at The Printed Page. It is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. ‘It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?’ is a also a fun meme by Sheila at The Book Journey that allows book-bloggers to share their reading progress. 

This week I have a lot of ‘finishing off’ to do. As if that isn’t enough, I’ve gone and picked up MORE books. 2011 was supposed to be a year of clearing the TBR pile. I’m just adding more and more onto what I already accumulated! Here’s the lowdown on my February reads, reviews I’ve written, and stuff I have lined up for March:

Books Read | February
(click for reviews)

White Oleander by Janet Fitch (5/5)
Tales of Freedom by Ben Okri (3/5)
The Prisoner of Zenda by Anthony Hope (4/5) 
Amsterdam by Ian McEwan
 (2/5) 
The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (4.5/5)

January/ February Reviews

In The Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami
A Man’s Head by Georges Simenon
One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovitch by Solzhenitsyn
The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark
Octopussy and the Living Daylights by Ian Fleming
Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World by Haruki Murakami

Currently Reading/ March Outlook

Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas
Lost World by Particia Melo
Memoirs of Emma Courtney by Mary Hays
Lucky Jim by Kingsley Amis
Illywhacker by Peter Carey
Nazi Literature in the Americas by Roberto Bolano

I’m really looking forward to getting to know more of Bolano’s work and Peter Carey, which was recommended to me by fellow reader Heather on Goodreads. I picked up the Kingsley Amis after watching Sebastian Faulk’s ‘On Fiction’ that was aired on the BBC. It’s was all about tracing the role of ‘Hero’ through literature and ‘Lucky Jim’ was mentioned as being the dysfunctional and funny type of hero. I miss the great humour of Stella Gibbon’s ‘Cold Comfort Farm’, so I’m half hoping it will resemble it in some ways.

What are you planning to read this week?  

