Tags

, , , , ,


It's Monday! What are you reading this week?

A new year brings new books. And I’ve got some really good ones lined up to take me through to February. This years going to be all about clearing that TBR pile (and chasing up on those half-read fat classics that are beginning to weigh heavy on my conscience).  

Books Read
‘Midnights Children’ by Salman Rushdie
  Midnight's Children
3/5 stars for this one. I really enjoyed it and it had some very funny moments and memorable characters. Word of warning though, it’s a hefty book (600+ pages) and took me about a month to get through. It was well worth the while. 

‘Octopussy and The Living Daylights’ by Ian Fleming

Octopussy and The Living Daylights
Another 3/5’er. This collection of short stories, or rather ‘scraps’ of stories is perfect for those who want to get a taste of the original 007 action. My favourite was ‘The Living Daylights’, which actually had a half-decent ending. Back in the day, the world of espionage was very glamorous.  

Currently Reading
‘One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich’ by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich (Special Limited Edition)

Ever wonder what life was like in a Soviet gulag? I do. And guess what, it was no picnic in the park. This week I decided to put myself in the freezing-wet ‘valenki’ boots of a prisoner of war. My teeth chatter as I read on… 

‘The Count of Monte Cristo’ by Alexandre Dumas
The Count of Monte Cristo

One of my ‘fat fiction’ reads that I left off at page 800-something. Great book, fantastic characters. Good to be getting re-acquainted with it at last. An absolute must-read. Get it on your TBR list if you haven’t already.

 

