Tags

, , ,


Wondrous Words Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by BermudaOnion at Bermudaonion’s Weblog where we get to share new words that we’ve encountered in our reading. Anyone can join in!

First things first, I am extremely proud of myself right now, as I have finally been able to use my adopted word for the first time in a meaningful way (points above to title). Second things second, my ‘radicarian’ ways have now been directed towards  Salman Rushdie’s wonderfully exotic prose  as I’m having the greatest pleasure of reading ‘Midnight’s Children’ right now. My vocabulary is benefitting enormously from his colourful language. Here are my finds so far:

  1. Fustian 
    a. A coarse sturdy cloth made of cotton and flax.
    b. Any of several thick twilled cotton fabrics, such as corduroy, having a short nap.
    c. Pretentious speech or writing; pompous language.
  2. Eccrine
    a. Relating to an eccrine gland or its secretion, especially sweat.
    b. Exocrine.
  3. Apocrine
    a. (of exocrine glands) producing a secretion in which part of the secreting cell is released with the secretion; “mother’s milk is one apocrine secretion”
  4. Piscine
    Of, relating to, or characteristic of a fish or fishes.
  5. Declension
    1. Linguistics
    a. In certain languages, the inflection of nouns, pronouns, and adjectives in categories such as case, number, and gender.
    b. A class of words of one language with the same or a similar system of inflections, such as the first declension in Latin.
    2. A descending slope; a descent.

My favourite is ‘piscine’. Reminds me of the French lessons we used to take back in school. If you’ve come across any odd words today, please share!

