Tags

, , ,


It's Monday! What are you reading this week?

Ok, so it’s time for my Monday meme post again. I’ve skipped a week, only because I really needed to concentrate on some other things, but I think I’ve managed to bring my library book pile down to only one book, which is great.

For this week (in fact the whole month) I plan to read only books that I own that I’ve stock-piled over the years and haven’t read. I don’t know how many of them I’ll get through but here’s a rough guide to the ones that are at the forefront:

1. DH Lawrence ‘Lady Chatterley’s Lover’
2. Gustave Flaubert ‘Madame Bovary’
3. Wilkie Collins ‘Woman in White’ and ‘The Moonstone’
4. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle ‘Hound of the Baskervilles’
5. Anne Frank ‘The Diary of a Young Girl’
6. Janet Fitch ‘White Oleander’
7. Anthony Swofford ‘Exit A’
8. Angela Carter ‘The Passion of New Eve’
9. Cormac McCarthy ‘The Road’
10. Rebecca Wells ‘The Ya Ya’s in Bloom’
11. F Scott Fitzgerald ‘The Great Gatsby’ and ‘The Last Tycoon’

Some of the books listed above I’ve had for over 10 years. The Fitzgerald and the Collins I’ve never been able to really get into. They were notoriously boring, or maybe I was just too young to grasp the full depth of the works themselves. I’ve had ‘The Moonstone’ and ‘Woman in White’ for 14 years and I can’t seem to get past page 20 on either of them. It will be a real relief to get these titles under my belt. I’ll get them read, even if it’s a complete nightmare doing so! As Gnoegnoe suggested, I will be joining the ‘Read Your Own Books Mara-a-thon’ as soon as I discover where it’s taking place 🙂 

Ok, so now I must update everyone on the books I read since last time. Here goes:

1. ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ by Khalid Hosseini
A Thousand Splendid Suns
I gave this book 3/5 stars. It was read that kind of stopped and started for me in some places. Very emotional and full of great examples of resistance to corruption and humanity.

2. ‘The Good Soldier’ by Ford Madox Ford
The Good Soldier
Part of the 1001 book list, I gave this 4/5 stars. It haven’t read anything quite like this, and although it was a good read, it’s rambling unreliable narrator can at times leave you feeling a bit lost or frustrated. I hated the characters though. My goodness… you’ll have to read it to see it.

So, that’s it for my update. I hope you all have a great week with your respective books.

