So here it is folks, my grand total of books read during July. I’m always surprised when I look back at the material I’ve gone through. It gives me a moment to appreciate once more the great (and not-so-great) novels that have enriched my life. We are all so preoccupied with looking for our next literary fix that I think it’s a good idea to take some time out give ourselves a pat on the back.

Special thanks goes out to Kayla from Caught Between The Pages for the wonderful idea. I’ve adopted it as a monthly meme now, since I liked it so much on Kayla’s blog. So here’s the rundown, click on the links to take you to the reviews: 

In The Miso Soup
Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream (1001 booklist)
The Rapture (audiobook)
Winter Trees
Nocturnes
Things Fall Apart (1001 booklist)
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge)
The Rum Diary
Disgrace (1001 booklist)

Some people read 9 books in a week, but I’m a slow reader and even 9 is quite an achievement for me. Out of the nine I read I’d say ‘Fear and Loathing’ was the best this month. It really opened up a whole new area of fiction for me. Although I haven’t reviewed ‘The Rum Diary’ yet, I found it to be quite different from ‘Fear and Loathing’. I suppose the pre-drugs Hunter S. Thompson was much more level-headed back then, but I like his craziness, and that’s what is missing in ‘The Rum Diary’.

This month, I’m hoping to get through some books that I already own (have owned for years in fact) but never actually read. Yes, I’m planning to visit my little stock-pile shelf of classics in order to tick a few more ‘1001 books’ off the list. So far, I’ve dug up the following titles:

The Hound of the Baskervilles – Arthur Conan Doyle
Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
Lady Chatterley’s Lover – DH Lawrence

I’m pretty sure I have some F Scott Fitzgerald somewhere too, so I’ll be spending some time brushing up on the ‘heavies’, then hopefully I’ll give myself a break and get some lighter reading material. Or maybe not lol! What’s your August reading list?

