Tags

,


Lately, it seems I’m up to my eyeballs in booklists. I am a sucker for them. Today, as I was looking through some of my journals, I realised that I’d drawn up over 20 lists that I’d either been recommended, or I’d discovered by chance. Some of the titles are actually quite funny, but there is no way on god’s earth I’ll ever read all of them. I am currently reeling under the weight of the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die, and I’m putting together a ‘Banned Books’ list that wll have some very interesting titles to say the least. But here are some of my recent and old ones that I have managed to dig out. I’m pretty sure I’ve got more somewhere, and when I do find them, I’ll post them later 🙂 So here it is, my crazy lists!

Risque/ Banned/ Foreign Booklist Spring 2009

‘Wieland; or the Transformation & Memoirs of Carwin, The Biloquist’ – Charles Brockden Brown
‘Narrative of the Life of of Frederick Douglass; an American Slave’ – Frederick Douglass
‘The Yellow Wallpaper & Other Stories’ – Charlotte Perkins Gilman
‘Uncle Tom’s Cabin’ – Harriet Beecher Stowe
‘The House of Mirth’ – Edith Wharton
‘Les Fleur du Mal’ -Charles Baudelaire
‘Essential Victor Hugo’, ‘Notre Dame du Paris’ – Victor Hugo
‘Against Nature’ – J. K. Huysmans
‘Crimes of Love’, ‘Misfortunes of Virtue and Other Tales’ – Marquis de Sade
‘The Red and the Black’ – Stendhal
‘La Bete Humaine’, ‘L’Assommoir’, ‘The Ladies Paradise’ – Emile Zola

Hidden Gems Booklist Summer 2009

‘Lace’ – Shirley Conran
‘Les Diaboliques’ – Barbey D’Aurevilly
‘Little Big’ – John Crowley
‘A Report on Probability’ – Brian Aldiss
‘The Dispossessed’ – Ursula Le Guin
‘The Neverending Story’ – Michael Ende

Random Books from Amazon 2005

‘Zazie in the Metro’ – Raymond Queneau
‘The Whalestoe Letters’ – M. Z. D.
‘Cryptonomicon’, ‘Snow Crash – Neal Stephenson
‘Count Zero’, ‘Mona Lisa Overdrive’ – William Gibson
‘Girl, Interrupted’ – Susanna Kaysen

