Tags

, , ,


“This is not a story of incredible heroism, or merely the narrative of a cynic; at least I do not mean it to be. It is simply a glimpse of two lives that ran parallel for a time, with similar hopes and convergent dreams.
        In nine months of a man’s life he can think lot’s of things, from the loftiest meditations on philosophy to the most modest desperate longing for a bowl of soup – in total accord with the state of his stomach… Man, the measure of all things, speaks here through my mouth and narrates in my own language that which my eyes have seen… The person who wrote these notes passed away the moment his feet touched Argentine soil. The person who reorganizes and polishes them, me, is no longer, at least I’m not the person I once was. All this wandering around “Our America with a capital A” has changed me more than I thought.
        …But I’ll leave you now, with myself, the man I used to be…”
 
Taken from the first chapter ‘Entendamonos’, Guevara tries to sum up the effect of his journey around America, and how this changed him into the man he was to become. It is said that all people have their own personal ‘legend’, and often this legend or myth is discovered in moments of travelling. Many have reported to have ‘found’ themselves in moments when they truly got lost in the world. The young Ernesto Guevara experienced life beyond the borders of his native Argentina, and realised that the world was a whole lot bigger than him. The troubles of the world were also a lot bigger than his own selfish, personal struggles. On journeys like this, a person’s soul grows and learns to love the world on another level, and through it, all mankind. A person finds the power to stand up to the injustice prevalent in their part of the world, and give others the strength to follow such ideals.
